My mom has always loved the saying from Dr. Suess’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas: “Maybe Christmas, he though, doesn’t come from a store.  Maybe Christmas, perhaps,
means a little bit more.”  And for the past few years, she has seen the saying printed on a plate at various local craft fairs.  Well, this year was finally the year she got her saying. 
Not from the lady who sells the plates, but handmade by me (with a little help from my dad!).

The project was easy, thanks to the right tools!  My Cricut was my go-to for cutting perfect letters.  And with the Cricut Design Studio software, I was able to save paper by fitting the letters into every corner of the paper.  My dad cut the plywood to size, matching the size of the frame already hanging where this sign would go.  Using leftover red paint saved even more money.  A few coats later I was ready to glue on the letters.  A mixture of craft glue and water made it easy to cover all the edges of each letter.  I then sprayed the board with several coats of clear gloss finish.  I took apart a holiday garland piece from Michael’s and stapled the pieces to the back.  Finally, some ribbon completed the look.

It was a great experience making this board, knowing the whole time how much my mom would love it. Email me if you are interested in making your mom (or anyone else) cry too!

7/10/2012 11:28:33 pm

Many thanks for information

Reply
9/27/2012 10:07:39 pm

Nice one info, thx

Reply



Leave a Reply.